How to delete WhatsApp backup

The archive on WhatsApp plays an important role. It is designed to store important messages in the device’s memory. The archive cannot be read by those who do not have direct access to the account, which increases the security of using the messenger. Before deleting a WhatsApp backup, you should figure out where it is stored and how to make it.

Archive location

The backup copy is stored for a short time on the application servers. If you set the appropriate settings, the archive remains in the phone memory or in the cloud storage. Most often, the location of the archive can be found by going to the SD card memory. Here you need to open the WhatsApp folderThis is where the necessary data will be located.

To save important correspondence, you need to select the desired dialogue and make a long tap on it. As a result, several commands will appear in front of the user. Among them, you must select “Archive chat”.

If necessary, you can save the correspondence with all contacts. For this you will need:

  1. In the messenger go to “Settings”.
  2. Select the “Chats” item.
  3. Go to the “Chat history” section.
  4. Click on the “Archive all chats” button.
  5. Confirm your actions.

In order to restore messages, you need to open the settings in the messenger and select the action offering to unzip chats. Moreover, this function is available both in the mobile application and in its web version.

How to delete archives

There are several ways to delete WhatsApp backup. The simplest of these involves using a file manager. In order to perform an action, you must:

  1. Open Android file manager.
  2. Find the WhatsApp folder.
  3. Select the file Backups.
  4. Hold the folder name for a few seconds.
  5. From the list of actions that appears, click “Delete”.

IPhone users can back up to iCloud. If you need to delete the correspondence, then you must do the following:

  1. Go to the device menu and go to the settings.
  2. Select the iCloud section.
  3. Open “Storage”.
  4. Find the WhatsApp folder and click “Delete All”.

The backup function is quite convenient as it allows you to save important information. But those users who are worried about the privacy of correspondence can delete the archive at any time, regardless of where it is stored, in the memory of a smartphone, Google Drive or iCloud.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *